Sometimes, I Wear my “Fat Girl” Clothes

Standing looking in the mirror now, I made a realization. The shirt and pants I’m wearing are way too big on me.

I don’t think it’s intentional; I do know how to dress myself, I swear! I have done the right thing and donated what I thought were all of my clothes that didn’t fit any more. Ages ago. (Although occasionally I wish I still had a pair of the jeans I wore when I started this journey, just so I could hold them up for that glorious goal photo at the end…)

I think in the back of my mind I kept a few of my “these will never fit” shirts thinking that they will eternally be that way. And by putting them on and seeing that they DON’T fit, because now they are too big, is a reminder of how far I’ve come. So I wear them.

I haven’t arrived. There are jeans that are still too small in the “someday” pile.
But looking at my ridiculous self in the mirror, I can smile and see how far I’ve come.

And that, my friends, helps me keep going.

Leave a Reply

