Future-proof Your Life

Today I was driving through a shopping center, after a really intense conversation (the state of the union, what the heck are we doing here kind of talk) and I saw a sign in a window that said “future proof your laptop”. I drove by thinking how absurd that is, and that by not knowing what the future holds and that it is inevitable we can’t make ourselves immune to it.

Well, the sign worked, because I thought about it the whole way home, and I think my initial reaction may have been slightly off base. Sure, we don’t know what’s coming or how to stop it, but aren’t the choices we consciously make intended to change or maintain our trajectory? Don’t we do things to insure the most desirable outcome, given an unknown amount of circumstances?

The more I think about it, the more I agree with that dang sign.

I do things in my daily life, some that I don’t want to, because there’s something coming, and I don’t know what that something is. It could be a health issue, a financial issue, or even a relational issue. All I know is given what may be coming, I can prepare. Future-proofing.

I don’t know what old age will do to my body. But, I do know that by changing the start point, or even the trajectory, can change how I handle whatever aging throws at me. Running and eating cleaner is a way I future-proof.
I can’t predict the economy or my own future in the financial world, or even what needs will arise (I’ve heard a few times that kids are expensive?). But I can budget and save- not to a crazy hoarding degree, just enough to be pointed in the right direction.

I think about it this way… When I enter an intersection I need to keep my steering wheel straight forward until it’s time to turn, otherwise, if I get hit from behind I get knocked whatever direction my wheel is pointed. By keeping it straight forward, no matter if I get hit or not, I won’t go flying into oncoming traffic.

Relationship maintenance is one of the MOST important ways we future-proof our lives. How many times do I have to look back and think “I wish I said XY and Z to them” before we hit it on the front end?

Say what you mean and mean what you say- change the nature of how you communicate. Point your wheels straight forward- it’s the only way, I believe, that we can drive confidently into the future… No matter what it holds.

Leave a Reply

