Well, Which is it???

Sometimes I find myself at a juncture in life where my road map seems to be outdated. It’s not that I don’t know where I’m going- I know that for a fact. It’s more like the crease is right over the part that I need to read. I suppose here is where I follow my instincts… (Or go left. A true adventurer always goes left.)

Am I confusing you yet?

Yeah. Me too.

I have been going along with my life pretty well for the last year, making good choices and mostly following my map. (It’s a good map.)

Then something happened, after I wrote my huge “I’ve lost 100+ lbs!!!” blog. This appears to be my M.O. (Talk about something big and awesome and then disappear…)

I didn’t backslide, but I stopped my forward motion, it seems. Am I failing or winning? Which is it???

What I have decided is this- it’s neither.

Have you ever gotten so zoomed in on your map and following along that you don’t realize where you are anymore?

I have spent the last month and a half zooming back out and reexamining where I am and where I’m going. I like my end destination, but as we grow and stretch I think we realize things about ourselves and our characters that also grow and stretch and require some reevaluation.

For me the following have recently becoming apparent…

1. I need to start my day off with more intentionality. I need to be centered before I even leave the house. I may not feel the benefit of this while I am doing it, but I sure feel it later in the day when I forget.

2. I need to expend my horizons. I am a runner, but to be a great runner I have to also strengthen my body in ways that I can’t get from pounding out the miles.

3. I can only juggle a certain amount of balls at a time- beyond that I need help. Help from friends, family, and even strangers. I need to ask for that help

4. It’s ok to admit that I’m a work in progress- a wonderfully fearfully made work in progress.

 

So that’s it. That’s all I’ve got at this point. I have begun to move again- slowly but surely. I did not plant roots and get comfortable and I am on my way.

Diligently.

Thoughtfully.

Full of help and support.

Rollin’.

Leave a Reply

