Review: PowerIce

I wouldn’t say I’m a fair weather runner, really. But maybe I should

I prefer to run when it is perfectly pleasant, overcast, a nice 50 degrees, no hills or stop lights. That’s not too much to ask, is it?

While all of that is fine and good- it’s not realistic, and after a while it does NOTHING for my training.

The only time the weather is exactly how I want it is at 6:00am. Unfortunately, I am not conscious that early in the morning. I’ve tried to be a morning runner, especially given my cooler temperature preference, but nothing in me wants to be out of bed before 6:30 and I have to be walking out the door at 7:30 to get to work on time.

So what are my options?

I can run after work, at 6ish (like I do once a week for Run Club), delaying dinner until 7:30/8 or so, or I can run on my lunch in the middle of the day. Have you been in the Colorado sunshine in the middle of the day? Let’s just say, I’m glad we have a shower at my office…

Anyhow, so I decided to get back into my training this week (Bolder Boulder 10k is in 11 days! See: Post Marathon Absence…) and I knew I wouldn’t have time before or after work to get anything in. I planned a lunch run (we call it Runch) and brought all of my running clothes with me to work. I also threw a PowerIce into my lunch bag and when I got to the office promptly put it in the freezer.

Orange Blast!

PowerIce is like the old ice push pop things I used to have in the summer when I was younger (you know the ones that came in a box of 50 and were like a buck? Total? These are like those except not just sugary garbage.) They are free of caffeine, gluten, and high fructose corn syrup– really high quality. They also have electrolytes and vitamin C– the exact reason I brought one for after my run. Today was slated to be hotter than it has been (thanks for skipping Spring, Colorado…) so I knew I would need SOMETHING.

Temp for 5/13/13

So I headed out for my run and at first I felt really good. There was a little breeze and things weren’t that bad. But, as I kept pushing on (uphill) I realize that it is way more humid out that I thought… Am I in freaking Houston? Geez! Every breath in is thick and I swear I was breathing in ALL the pollen. The path I chose was hot and without any shade- I think my face was melting off. I also realized at that point that I had taken off without water. Dumb move, folks. In the heat you always want to be hydrated.

The only thing that kept me going was knowing that back in the office I had a yummy treat waiting for me in the freezer.

I only got 2 miles in, one at my race pace, before Mr. Sun benched me. I tried to not feel defeated, but I was whooped.

I went into the office kitchen and opened my PowerIce and nommed. It was freaking delicious. The flavor I brought with was the Orange Blast, but they also have Lime Kicker. I love it when companies actually take the time to make sure the flavor is good instead of just throwing a product out there and telling you to just get used to the taste (Come on. You know you’ve had those protein bars, shakes, supplements etc…)

Here’s my obligatory “watch me eat it” face. I would like to point out that my face is indeed melted as it is the same color as my neon pink shirt…

So yummy! I'm a kid again!

So yummy! I’m a kid again!

Before I move on to some awesome info that I didn’t write (from their website), I wanted to let you all know that my hubby (who works from home) had 2 of them after his run! He likes the Lime Kicker ūüôā We agree to disagree…

Anyhow, for all you nerds out there here’s some facts:

pi-product-pgv3

So I have to say, I know that there is a time and place for any fuel, supplements etc that you use in a workout. This wouldn’t be something I would take with me on a run in the morning, or a super-long run at the park (I don’t have a mobile freezer yet) but I think that I can¬†confidently¬†say that not only would I bring these with me to work, but they would encourage me to get more midday runs in, without worrying about my energy levels and whatnot when I’m finished!

I like them so much that I am sharing the rest of my sample with my hubby’s mom and my best runner friends, because they really need to try them!

If you want to check them out or connect with them so you can pick up some of your own they are on Twitter @PowerIce and FaceBook: PowerIce and their website is here.

Side note: I’m all about local products and some of the best come from here in Colorado! PowerIce is up in Steamboat Springs!!!

Please note:  I received a sample of PowerIce to review on this blog- I was not compensated for the review.  All opinions are my own, as they should be :)

Leave a Reply

