Adapt and Grow

As the year starts to draw to a close I figured now would be a good time to update on where I’ve been and where I’m headed.

Up until this fall I would’ve classified myself as an endurance athlete. I love running, and that was where all of my focus and energy was spent. But, ever since my full marathon in April, my passion seemed zapped. I still did some races, but the “fun run” part of my training just wasn’t there. In addition, I left my gym that had a run club, and switched to one next to my work to help save money.
Around the same time I started listening to more podcasts about training and fitness- I think I was looking for something to get me going and unstick me. In one of the paleo podcasts I listen to a trainer was being interviewed and was talking about the women he trains. He was explaining that you can only serve one master in the gym, and it hit me. I wanted the results of someone who strength trains, but I was doing the work of an endurance athlete.

In October I made a conscious decision to start strength training, and only do a couple fun run races. As a part of the Nerd Fitness Academy I had access to the workouts, and chose the Barbell Battalion to start my training.

Many ladies will attest, moving to the free weights section of the gym can be a scary thing, so I enlisted the help of my best friend, who was also a runner and wanting to get strong. We started small, not even using the bar, and opting for the lighter preset weight bars. Over the past 8 weeks we have worked our way up to some great PRs and we are both growing and learning

20131215-093721.jpg

2014 Planning
So with my weight workouts doing well I have a few things on my plate that I’m excited about for 2014.

First, I have been selected to be a Girls Gone Sporty Goal Getter. Over the course of the first quarter of 2014, I will be working towards getting my first pull up! Never in my life have I ever done one and until I started my NFA workouts, I couldn’t even hang on a bar. Two days a week I have hanging knee tucks on my training plan, so my grip strength has improved greatly! Starting January 1st, I will be sharing with the world (eep!) my progress!

So far, I can at least hang and bend my arms! Hooray!

(I will add a YouTube link, as soon as I can make it work!)

Next, in May I will be participating in a Spartan Sprint in Colorado Springs. I won this entry from Amanda at Mommy Go Run. My best friend won one as well! We are super excited to get to try this together!

Lastly, a bunch of us are training to do a Go Ruck Light in June! This will involve being a part of a team training that lasts 7 hours or so. We train with a backpack full of bricks, that we’ve wrapped carefully…
Here are mine:

20131215-095058.jpg

So, that’s where I’m at, with some great goals for 2014! I’m super excited to get going!

20131215-095244.jpg

One thought on “Adapt and Grow

  1. You are truly an inspiration and joy to have watched during your journey. May God bless you in all that you do.

Leave a Reply

