Spring Training

I can’t believe that spring is going to be here in two weeks. I have been a little quiet recently, but I promise you I have been busy! I am making progress on my pull up action. In fact, last week I successfully conquered the monkey bars for the first time since I was 10 years old!

The gains I have been making in my back strength are hard to see when I am at the gym hammering away on the pull up machine, but they became very evident the second I let go of the bar and swung!

In addition to my pull up training, I have been doing lots of cross training to get ready for the Spartan Sprint that is right around the corner in May. The Spartan will have a lot of different obstacles like rope climbs, monkey bars, scaling walls and more- even spear throwing! I’m not really sure how to practice for that last one, but I will do my best.

My training includes the 6 week workout plan from the Nerd Fitness Academy– designed to be progressively difficult as time goes on. I have done things I didn’t think I could do before: box jumps, 100 burpees, dozens of real push ups. Wow!

Now that the weather is getting nicer, we are getting back out on the trails, too! In February I hiked Beaver Creek and Rabbit Mountain. I saw neither beavers, nor rabbits, but I had a great time đŸ™‚ I also “rucked” these trails- Rabbit felt so good I was able to take a block of my husbands bricks! My Go Ruck event is June 7th!!!

This spring is off to a great start and I’m super stoked for what’s in store!

2 thoughts on “Spring Training

  1. Finally found someone who’s also working toward a pull-up! So cool. (I’ve been training for about 2 months now.) Congrats on your progress so far!

Leave a Reply

