Epic Quest: Training for Long’s Peak

Over on Nerd Fitness we have just begun another 6 week challenge. Over the course of those 6 weeks people set real attainable goals for themselves in the areas of diet/fitness and life in general. One of the goals that I have set for myself this time around is to train for and hike Longs Peak. For most people this wouldn’t really fall into most people’s “Epic Quest” category, but when you come from a journey that started 140 lbs over weight and way out of shape, even climbing the stairs could be a “challenge”.

If you had asked me 3 1/2 years ago what I thought of Long’s Peak, I would most likely tell you that it’s gorgeous and that it’s an amazing creation.

Now, when you ask me what I think of Long’s, I will most likely tell you that I am going to conquer it– that it torments and teases me when I look at it off in the distance.

Getting healthy and in shape does funny things to our perspective.

About a 2 years ago, I went hiking for the first time in Colorado.  It was an amazing experience, and I began to realize just how much being overweight had hindered my life. There was so much that I just couldn’t do or wouldn’t do. Hiking Ouzel Falls that day made me realize that I had awoken something in me that is unstoppable and that will never again be silenced.

A year ago I found Nerd Fitness and learned about these 6 week challenges (my 9th one started yesterday), but I also learned about Epic Quests. Over the last year things have popped into my mind as things that I would love to add my own Epic Quest list, but nothing so daunting as the lure of Long’s Peak.

So this week I begin my journey to FINALLY attempt to conquer that thing off in the distance that toys with my heart.

I don’t think it’s any coincidence that my in-laws left this for me on their kitchen table:

5280 Magazine

 

This summer, in my journey to be a more awesome ME, I hope to find a missing piece of myself on top of that summit.

Leave a comment